Blog Archive

Sunday, January 27, 2013

78 Pirates Preview

The Pirates were led in 1978 by none other than the cobra Dave Parker.  The cobra won the batting title in 1978 and he hopes to accomplish that in Araig.  The Buccos were known as lumber and lightening as Omar Moreno led both leagues in stolen bases with 71.  Willie Stargell slugged 28 homeruns in only 390 at-bats in an injury plagued season.  The Pirates also had other base stealers besides Moreno with Taveras and Garner swiping a few.  Chuck Tanner loved to run and employ the hit and run and Araig can expect more of the same from me.  The ace of the pitching staff was Bert Blyleven who won 14 games and posted a 3.03 era.  Don Robinson also won 14 games.  Kent Tekulve was once again the closer as he saved 31 games.  The Pirates figure to contend this year just like they did in Araig 77 and hopefully reach the World Series again.

No comments:

Post a Comment